Cart is empty $0.00 USD

Browse catalogue by artiste / era / genre / serial no.

CD D 662


Hoot Rains and Curley Herndon were already seasoned musicians when they joined Slim Whitman’s band in 1950, getting wide exposure on the Louisiana Hayride as Whitman’s popularity soared with early hits like Love Song Of The Waterfall, Indian Love Song and China Doll, on all of which they played. Hoot’s “Soaring steel’ and Curley’s lead guitar produced a sound like no other, perfectly complementing Slim’s yodelling and the public loved it! Hoot and Curley meanwhile struck up a double act themselves, performing and recording as a fine harmony duo. Our CD showcases 16 of their recordings on the Imperial, Starday and Starrite labels. We round off the collection with some tracks from another regular Hayride performer from the same era, Nathaniel “Jack” Ford – four of his Chess recordings and plus five off-radio recordings of Jack singing accompanied by Hoots and Curley.

Price: USD $22.00           

Genres: | Eras:

Track listing:

I'm Doing Fine Without You
- I'm Alone Tonight
- Liniment And Turpentine
- Million Dollars Worth Of Memories
- Always Looking
- Will Tomorrow Bring Yesterday
- Part Of Your Heart
- Country Lovin'
- Battered Old Raincoat
- You Get What You Pay For
- Another Man's Wife My Mother
- You Little Devil
- Lonesome And Lovesick
- Hurry Hurry
- That's My Style
- Hillbilly Heart
- Standing At The Station
- Old Time Religion
- Mansion In The Sky
- Makin' Believe
- Blues Stay Away From Me
- I Understand (Just How You Feel)
- Teach Me To Love
- That's All You Gotta Do
- Yankee Dime.

Price: USD $22.00           

How to buy

Listen to sample tracks:

01 I'm-Doing-Fine-Without-You

23-Teach-Me-To-Love (Jack-Ford)