Cart is empty $0.00 USD

Browse catalogue by artiste / era / genre / serial no.

CD D 239

CHUCK WAGON GANG Secular And Sacred Songs. B.A.C.M. 239

A selection of sentimental and sacred songs recorded 1936-54 from this four-piece harmony group. Led by David “Dad” Carter they were originally The Carter Quartet; the first 15 songs on this collection date from the late ‘30s, a mix of contemporary hillbilly and Cowboy songs, tight harmony singing, somewhat sweeter in sound than the ‘Other’ Carter Family, with mandolin and guitar accompaniment. The final nine tracks, all in the sacred/gospel genre, date from the early 1950s when they had deservedly become country music legends and gospel icons. Superb, easy listening.

Price: USD $22.00           

Genres: , | Eras:

Track listing:

- Take Me Back To Renfro Valley
- At The Rainbows End
- Take Me Back To Col-ler-rad-da Fer To Stay
- Carry Me Back To The Mountains
- Echoes From The Hills
- Wonder Valley
- Ill Be All Smiles Tonight
- Put My Little Shoes Away
- Dear Old Sunny South By The Sea
- The Engineers Child
- I Want To Be A Real Cowboy Girl
- The Little Green Mound On the Hill
- Oklahoma Blues
- Will You Love Me When My Hair Has Turned To Silver
- Texas Star
- Signs By The Side Of The Road
- Ive Changed My Mind
- I Know My Saviour Cares
- All Gods Children Gonna Rise And Shine
- Well Be Happy All The Time
- At The Dawning
- Love Leads The Way
- O Why Not Tonight
- Ive A Precious Friend

Price: USD $22.00           

How to buy

Listen to sample tracks:

02 At-the-Rainbows-End (rec. 1936)

24 I've-a-Precious-Friend (rec. 1954)